Trail Run Fun

On my run I am stopped dead in my tracks when the path disappears due to flood waters. floodWhile my dog doesn’t seem to mind, I need to find an alternate course. After attempting to scale some logs, jump some rocks, weave through prickly bushes, I finally concede and backtrack my way to a fork that takes us up to higher ground.

This is precisely why I love trail running. Every single time you are out on a trail, it is different. Today there is flooding where yesterday it was a wide open beach to traverse.

View of where I stood taking the picture of the boat in the sand in the next picture. Wonder if the boat will still be there?!

View of where I stood taking the picture of the boat in the sand in the next picture. Wonder if the boat will still be there?!

Far right of this picture is where I am standing taking a picture of high waters in previous photo.

Far right of this picture is where I am standing taking a picture of high waters in previous photo.

One day the silence feels deep and total and another day the squirrels and robins regale with me song. One day the sound of a passing train drifts through the trees while another I almost step in bear poop and remember that I am here, in the wild.

Depending on my mood, one day I might be blasting ‘Inner Ninja‘ as I karate chop my way through a single-track, evading roots, leaping stones and feeling fierce,IMG_2079 while the next day calls for nature as my playlist as I keep a slow, steady pace on a wide open trail.IMG_1877

Trail running sometimes brings close encounters. I’ve seen coyotes, bears, sea otters (on land!), eagles, heron, salmon, owls, turtles and squatters. Usually the sightings are far enough away to be majestic rather than frightening though the occasional run-in with evil-out-to-get-me ducks where my dog hides behind my legs does give me pause at my overall safety. Truly though, I feel more threatened on the road with speeding traffic and crazy bikers seemingly wanting desperately to play Bumper Runners.

Getting out is sometimes hard. Even knowing it will feel great, sometimes excuses come too easy. On this day, the flooded trail one, I go only because I need 30 minutes in nature to continue the 30X30 Nature Challenge. Coffee and errands seem far superior than getting drenched and muddy but I set my run at 30 minutes, a quick 15 minutes in and out so that I can get to that caffeine soon please!

Only a funny thing happens at the 15 minute mark. I do not want to turn around. The rain is falling and I am soaking but also feeling fabulous. No side stitch, legs feel good, music is pumping, the forest radiating deep and vast shades of green and so I keep on going. An hour later I am home, headed for a hot shower.

Though I double my intended time, my errands still get done as I now have a pep in my step not there before. Coffee not even required. (Though always welcome!)

2 thoughts on “Trail Run Fun

  1. Oh I love a good trail run. I should get out there too. Today I had my funniest bear encounter -while in my car though. A bear ran across the 99 in front of my car…thankfully far enough away that I had time to stop. I have never seen a bear run so fast and jump a median. It almost looked dog like and stealth! ; ) It just reminds me that bears are out there on any of those trails. I am a wuss. I might want to borrow Riley! ; )

    • I almost hit a coyote the other day in my car at Alice Lake. Totally had me pause and remember how ‘wild’ it is here and had me question whether I should really run the 4 lakes loop. I did but did see another (or same?) coyote across edith lake while running. And having Riley? Well, let’s just say I’m pretty sure she’s happy to sacrifice me to any bear, coyote or squatter that come our way so she can make it safely home to snuggle up by the fire 😉

Share Your Insight

