Quotes on Play

Last Sunday, Bal’s beloved Seahawks were playing in the playoffs (do they call it that in football?) and I presumed it was a guarantee that I would be taking the girls out alone on this day. Which is cool because say, if there was a live Doctor Who meets Downton Abbey special on, I would so ditch my family for that.

Had you asked Bal if he’d be staying in to watch the game, I’m sure he would have given you a ‘Hell yah’ too.

But when I told him we were going to go check if the lakes were frozen and go for a walk/slide on the lake, the Canadian in him was drawn in. Because though we are Canadian, this part of Canada does not freeze over very often. He couldn’t pass it up.

I was truly shocked, but happy and impressed too.

Of course, had there been no PVR, there wouldn’t have been a chance he’d join us!

Happily we do, and joyfully he came and not a regret was had (not even if his team had won I think)IMG_8417

“So, like a forgotten fire, a childhood can always flare up again within us.” ~Gaston Bachelard

IMG_8418_1KF1802

“Play is curiosity and joy in a blender.” Kashdan

IMG_8285IMG_8314_1KF1724_1KF1723

“We don’t stop playing because we grow old;
We grow old because we stop playing.” ~George Bernard Shaw

Is this a low-lying branch on the ice or is it an ice palace for tea parties with rocket ships parked outside?IMG_8401

You know our answer.

2 thoughts on “Quotes on Play

  1. I love all the shadows on the ice! Love that the girls are wearing their helmets! I took Karis on the ice without hers one day and my mom and dad gave me $*#& after I sent out the photos. Yikes. Won’t make that mistake again. ; )

    • Thank goodness we did have those helmets. Brennyn slammed her noggin twice! Cushy helmet just made her giggle and she got up for another race down the ice.

Share Your Insight

