The Optimist and The Flu

Being an optimist didn’t come naturally to me, though over the years of practicing gratitude and mindfulness, I have been converted. My initial knee-jerk reaction to things sometimes still finds me in a negative place, presuming the worst. But give me a few moments for my brain to play catch-up to the present, snapping away from the tangled past, and usually I find my way back to the bright side.

This past week, including now, I have been sick. Flat-out, can’t move, can’t think straight, can’t talk sick. This morning I am bitter. Still sick, still no voice, oh and look, the pink eye seems to have returned. Bloody hell over it. So I type this now, trying to find the good in all of it…

Friends I haven’t seen in forever are all going sledding.
I am woman. I go despite feeling horrible.

I get sicker and may have spread my germs to friends.
But sledding and seeing them was really fun and we saw a rainbow…IMG_7884

Useless on Bal’s birthday.
But all he wanted to do was watch football and he got to do that.

No energy.
My boxing day Chapters order with 5 new books arrives just in time!books

I have to drive Kaya to Whistler for ski school and occupy Brennyn for 6 hours while there.
Bal ends up doing it because I’m in the throws of a pessimist episode…

Coughing so much, my abs hurt.
My abs are getting a work out.

Family kicked me out of the living room (because they say I should rest but obviously because they want to be rid of my misery and cooties.)
I cozy up in the spare room to watch Series 3 of Downton Abbey. Yes!

My photo-a-day prompts for January are that much harder when I can’t leave the house.
But do have me getting creative.

Movement is the prompt only I'm not moving anywhere. Slinky it is!

Movement is the prompt only I’m not moving anywhere. Slinky it is!

Prompt is street. This is outside my door cuz I'm not going any farther thank you very much!

Prompt is street. This is outside my door cuz I’m not going any farther thank you very much!

The house is a disaster.
I have an excuse, at least, as to why it is so.

It is snowing.
It is snowing.

This so is not working…

But this does. Quietly, all on her own, she creates and delivers.feelbetter

Be gone flu, be gone!

2 thoughts on “The Optimist and The Flu

  1. Oh Kari! I would never win the battle against the flu. Lets just hope that everyone else stays well in the home and heaven forbid that that nasty Man Cold/Flu finds its way in. In the case that it does, everything above – justified, right?!

Share Your Insight

