Practically Perfect

Kaya had her Mary Poppins birthday party this past weekend. When I first started researching ideas for pulling off a Mary Poppins party, I have to tell you, I was completely disheartened. People spend a LOT of money to prepare very elaborate parties out there. I’m talking full carousels in backyards, fancy (expensive!) Mary Poppins costumes, hundred dollar cakes, full yard sized chimney top backdrops…

I do not have that kind of money. Not even close. Pouting about the unfairness of it all, I grumpily click through the blogs and photos until Mary Poppins herself ‘spit spots’ me out of it.

β€œIn every job that must be done, there is an element of fun. You find the fun and… SNAP! The job’s a game!” ~Mary Poppins

So the game became creating a Mary Poppins party, on a budget, that would make my girl feel special. That’s all we want for our kids isn’t it? With money or without, at the end of the day we just want our kids to feel special on their day.

We start with a play at the park while we “Let’s Go Fly a Kite!” before walking over to our local kids arts/crafts/play place, that today has transformed into our very own chalk land party!

One can never go wrong with a rainbow disco ball. Mary Poppins tunes on and let the dancing commence! ‘Step in time, step in time, step in time, step in time, never need a reason, never need a rhyme, over the rooftop, step in time!’

Here we go, my girl already feeling very happy and oh so special.

Besides dancing, there is a beanbag toss, train table, a rocking horse that all the kids immediately agree is a carousel, a dino sand table, something for everyone really… The kids move from station to station, checking it all out with frequent returns to the dance floor.

As I wander about, I find two of Kaya’s friends using blocks and play icecream cones to create Kaya her very own castle icecream shop! Kaya gives a shy giggle but I can see in her eyes how much that meant to her. How special that made her feel. Beat up ol’ blocks and fake ice cream. Oh kids, you have so, so much to teach us. Thank you!

Next we move to the craft table to create some fabulous Mary Poppins-worthy hats. Check out that umbrella! Yay for the mom of some good friends who bought one when Mary Poppins came to town and let me borrow it!

Fancy girls!Oh just look at these cutenesses and love. Brilliant!

The budget would not allow me buying a cake, so I make cupcakes. Out of a box. Turn it into pretty colours, find a $2 cupcake tray, print off some cupcake toppers that you tape to a sucker, and voila, a million dollar smile for next to nothing!

After a bit more play, Kaya opens her presents (Bravo friends on your wonderful thoughtful gifts! And what I love even more is that Kaya has coveted the handmade cards as much as the gifts!) and then it is time to go home. Time for the Goody Bags!

I could have paid $5 a pop to add on goody bags to the party. That’s $50. Instead I make my own for under $20 and they turn out super cute if I do say so myself!

  • Bird seed, pinecones, a tuppence and ribbon (just add PB) to make their own birdfeeders (Feed the birds… Tuppence a bag!)
  • A smiley maze for ‘I Love to Laugh- Hahahaha!’
  • Of course ‘A Spoonful of Sugar’
  • Chalk
  • Free Mary Poppins printable for them to colour
  • Drink umbrellas

A tag that thanks our friends for ‘Poppin’ by and making Kaya’s party ‘Practically Perfect in Every Way!’ rounds it all out.

Oh yah, and did I mentioned that I dressed up as Mary Poppins? Except that I wasn’t sure Kaya would actually want me to be dressed up so I gave her the option toΒ  yay or nay me staying dressed up for the party. She voted nay! Her day and I suspected as much but I am so rockin Mary Poppins for Halloween!

At any rate, I don the hat ($ store flowers, berry and ribbon added to an old hat I already had) part way through the party to fit in with all the other fabulous hats floating around and Kaya is totally cool with that.

Folks, we were fab-hat-ulous!

No doubt about it, my girl not only felt special, she felt supercalafragilisticexpialidocious!

As it should be.

3 thoughts on “Practically Perfect

  1. KARI! This is incredible! My favourite part is that it was done on a budget! BEST BEST BEST! Love Kaya’s gorgeous toothy smile! Well done, and practically perfect in every way for sure!

  2. Hi from Cutie Putti Paperie! I found your blog and am so, so, very happy and excited to have had my printables be part of little Kaya’s big day πŸ™‚ What a great job you did putting this party together!!! I LOVE it, you did a super job, and all of the kids looked like they were having a blast!!
    I’m happy to have been part of it, even in a small way πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Danielle! For the comment and for the fabulous printables which added that little something extra to our Mary Poppins party! Funny, just the other day I was organizing all the girls art piles and came across some of the blank printables. I debated, recycle or keep, recycle or keep, until Kaya came in the room, gasped, and demanded “I’ll take those!” She is the queen of digging through the recycle boxes to save her art πŸ˜‰
      On another Mary Poppins note, today was a day off school so I drove the girls into Vancouver to go the aquarium. It’s about 45 minutes away so they begged me to play the Mary Poppins soundtrack and we ‘Love to Laugh- HAHAHAHA’d our way to the city. The obsession continues!

Share Your Insight

