Summer Encapsulated

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~Mark Twain

This quote first came to me in highschool as I thirsted to sail away from the safe (and boring) harbour. Through travels and kids, it has served me well. Even this summer, one where we stuck close to home, oh did we explore.

Just because it’s in our backyard, doesn’t mean we don’t explore the hell out of it. This tree, oh this poor little tree whose limbs held its own through climbs, rocket ship rescues, hide n’ seek, and a gaggle of girls whose sole summer mission was mastering the flip.

Master it, they do.

*

We dream.

In all seriousness, Kaya asks me “Mom, have you ever been to space?”

“No.”

“Oh, I have.”

“Hey, how’d you get there without me knowing?”

“Well, you were sleeping and I was looking out the window at the stars and I saw a rocket ship so I put on a bubble space hat and went in it and I went to the moon.”

“Woah, that’s cool!”

“Yah, but it was stinky. Like cheese. Looked like it too. There was a black and green alien that looked like a zombie.”

“Yikes, that’s scary.”

“No because I speak Alien and I found out it was super nice.”

“You speak Alien?”

“Yah, see? Gooliboodoodagungysheemilinatootoo.”

“Wow. Yah. So what did you talk about?”

“Nothing. We sang Baby Beluga in Alien instead. Wanna hear?”

I do and she sings Baby Beluga in Alien. She ignores me when I ask how the aliens knew Baby Beluga.

She’s on a roll now.

“I forgot to tell you I saw Mary Poppins on the way up and I held her hand and she gave me some magic and took me to the end of space.”

“That’s crazy far!”

“yah, and it is full of colours, like every colour there ever was! And there was a huge dragon that is NOT scary cuz me and Mary Poppins rode on her to a wall at the end of space that’s like a ride at the PNE that bounces you back home.”

“Wow, I slept through all that?!”

“Yah, you shouldn’t sleep so much.”

*

We discover.

My own most savoured childhood memories are just like these. Crouched down head to head with my friends, curious about the world, imagining places to go and attempting new feats.

Exploring, dreaming and discovering.

Always.

One thought on “Summer Encapsulated

Share Your Insight

