Best. Book. Ever.

Oh sure, putting that as my title creates far too high of expectations. But I can’t help myself, I just adored this book. Oh, let me introduce it shall I.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland In A Ship Of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente

The title alone makes me giddy. Okay, so straight up, this book is not for everyone. If you love words, lyrics, poetry, whimsy… then yes, this is for you. Otherwise, you may just be confused. Because as an adult reading this pre-teen book, I found it difficult. Though this is precisely why I loved it so.

If you know me, you’ll know I am a voracious reader. I read a lot and I read fast and once I start a book, I become entirely absorbed in that world until I complete it.

This is one of the very few books that I could not read fast. Did not want to read fast. I wanted to savour every adjective, idiom, turn of phrase. I wanted to be in this fantastically insane world of Witches, Winds, and Golems and felt compelled to share with everyone about the Wyverary named A-through-L.

Since I was reading a library book, highlighting was not an option but when I do get my own copy, oh am I going to highlight the hell out of it!

As it was, I post-it noted it until it got ridiculous and forced myself to stop. Here’s a sneak-peak of one paragraph I noted:

When they are in a great hurry, little girls rarely look behind them. Because she did not look behind, September did not see the smoky-glass casket close itself primly up again. She did not see it bend in half until it cracked and Death hop up again, quite well, quite awake, and quite small once more. She certainly did not see Death stand on her tip-toes and blow a kiss after her, a kiss that rushed through all the frosted leaves of the autumnal forest but could not quite catch a child running as fast as she could. As all mothers know, children travel faster than kisses. The speed of kisses is, in fact, what Doctor Fallow would call a cosmic constant. The speed of children has no limits.

Oh my god, typing that makes me want to read this book all over again!

Explaining the books is useless. But if you, like me, adore adventures, whimsy, crazy characters and a kick-ass little girl as the protagonist, then check it out. Please!

A magical bookmark for a magical book.

One thought on “Best. Book. Ever.

  1. gosh you so make reading books sound great. thankfully books will be around forever and i may one day crack the spine on this book! it does sound lovely.

Share Your Insight

