Spring Colours

After being inspired by another mother/daughter team who made books for each other, Kaya and I decided to do the same last week. Kaya thought we should make a book about ‘Spring Colours’ to which I suggested we make each page a colour from the rainbow. So our project began. Her finished book is far superior to my own so this week her book pages shall prompt my photography. Perhaps even some words and certainly some quotes. Today we begin with rainbows. We hope it puts a spring in your step!

Here we begin, with the cover of her book. A rainbow of colours.

We are rainbow fanatics in this house. Real ones, gas ones, crayon ones, umbrella ones, prism ones…


Speckled rainbows on our walls always prompts some bed jumping-dancing mania.

Today is not one of those days however. Overcast skies and grumpy girls. You see, Daddy left for the week this afternoon and Kaya is making it very clear that she is NOT happy about it. First she draws this,

Brennyn Grumpy. Mom Angry. Dad Happy. Kaya Sad. I will miss you Daddy.

This immediately has me snort laughing. Just look at me all angry and yelling and stuff, so the opposite of how I am actually feeling today! Perhaps she is projecting her own feelings? Or thinking this is how I should be feeling? Or certain this is her fate for the rest of the week? I don’t know but it cracks me up.

Shortly after this artistic expression, we drive Daddy to the bus station. Oh my, the drama. Both girls wailing and as we drive away Brennyn blubbers while Kaya whines “I MISS DADDY…”

Fortunately as we pull into our driveway the neighborhood gang of girls come running and distracts their misery.

But only for a time. Before long, Brennyn needs a nap and Kaya some down time. The girl is in full-on pout mode. So I pull out all the stops.

  • Focused Mommy time
  • to play Legos
  • in Rainbow Land


Because rainbows everywhere always elicits a smile!

“Sometimes it’s important to work for that pot of gold. But other times it’s essential to take time off and to make sure that your most important decision in the day simply consists of choosing which colour to slide down on the rainbow.” ~Douglas Patel

2 thoughts on “Spring Colours

  1. omg this post is awesome! i hope the angry spewing mother is not a prediction of this week! that was me last week. not fun. love the lego land rainbow! how perfect…and what a great quote! here’s hoping for a gorgeous sunny week of fun with your girls!

  2. Pingback: Happy Mother’s Day to Me | Wonder the World

Share Your Insight

