Common Denominator

National Geographic Traveler has an article in it this month entitled A World of Wonder (of course I was attracted to that title!) about places not specifically for kids, but perfect for kids. So, places that allow kids natural curiosity and delight to flourish, without an amusement park in view.

Finally an article that appeals to both mom me and traveler me! Too often I feel lost in the labels of who I am. Pulled in the direction of either-or instead of together.

Yes, I’m a stay-at-home-mom, but we don’t stay home much.

Yes, I think of myself as a traveler, though I haven’t been overseas since the kids arrived.

Yes, financially we are poor (only in so much as we can’t afford new ‘stuff’), but in life, oh we are rich.

The article first talks about the Galapagos and if I could high-five author Keith Bellows and give him a “Hell Yah!”, I would. For of all the places I have traveled, the Galapagos is one that I do not just remember, but feel. An immediate, visceral reaction happens when I think back to my time there and I want that for my kids. I want them to know and appreciate the wild, the peace, the serenity and conservation. The respect.

I’ll let you pick up the magazine to read his next two destinations though the where’s do not matter so much, I think, as the how. And how is by going out in the world, where ever we find ourselves in the world, and opening ourselves up to the awe.

Being a traveler and being a kid is not so different. Both have an openness to embrace the new. To learn and try and invent and create. To risk and experience leaps of faith. To embrace, and even welcome, the unexpected.

Helen MacInnes has said,

“Nothing is interesting, if you’re not interested.”

This is the heart of it right here. Both travelers and children are curious. Curiosity can not come without wonder, wonder without curiosity.

A learning cycle of growth. Organic learning, as opposed to the test-you-on-it kind.

It doesn’t matter who you are, that is something we call all learn from.

 

Curiosity

Share Your Insight

